Old 11-26-2010, 07:41 PM   #1
JPTolson

Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
Default Funny Paddling Experiences

TCT,

Does anyone care to share their funniest paddling experiences?

Here are four of mine:

1. Many years ago on a club trip to Goose Creek in Loudon County, VA, a complete newbie, paddling solo in one of the widest canoes I've ever seen, and I were in the pool of water waiting for everyone else on the trip to get their boats and gear ready to head down river. As he and I were talking, I noticed that he didn't have a strap to hold on his very thick-lensed eyeglasses in the event of a capsize. I checked my gear and found that I had an extra one and called over to him to come get it. As soon as he was no more than two to three feet from my canoe, he began to extend his arm to get the strap, leaned over, fell out of his boat right next to my canoe, and lost his glasses! The poor guy was half-blind, a complete newbie, and now faced one very blurry trip. Thank goodness it's a short run. I felt very sorry for the guy, but on an impersonal level, the irony of the situation was pretty funny.

2. I would occasionally take non paddling friends on the Violet's lock loop on the Potomac River in my canoe. This day, I took a young lady who had very little paddling experience. In those days, paddlers still used workmen's kneepads that strapped on behind the knees. As I was getting the boat and gear ready, I handed a pair of these kneepads to my friend and told her to put them on without bothering to tell her what they were. After I finished getting the boat ready, I looked up to see that she had strapped the kneepads to the bottom of her feet! I had all I could do to suppress the laughter.