Old 11-04-2010, 12:22 AM   #1
85dragonfly

Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
Default PFDs - newsletter

Hi Folks - I am responding here to an article by ?Rich A? in the most recent edition of the Trumbull Canoe Trails newsletter, regarding the specific regulations in both PA and Ohio regarding PFDs. I wish to first say that I mean no specific criticism or disrespect to Rich, or anyone else - rather, I wish us all to come to the take-out alive.

I believe that most people do not really understand the point of a PFD. In my experience most folks think that of it as a device for people who are unsure of themselves as swimmers, or think that it is a precaution to be worn when in waters of a Class with which they are unsure of themselves and their abilities. Or at best, something which must be ?at hand? in case the cops come down on ya. Nothing could be further from the truth.

I am a veteran of many years and many thousands of miles of both river and lake paddling. I am both pleased and humbled to say that I have paddled with many of the most experienced and accomplished canoe paddlers in North America, people who are in their way legends in the paddling community, and whom I am honored to call my friends. EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM wears a PFD AT ALL TIMES on the water - ANY water - whether that water be a Canadian Lake, a Class VI steep creek, or a backyard pond.